Macaroni and Cheese

23 04 2009

imgp28131

FINALLY!  A homemade macaroni and cheese that I actually like!  And I like it a lot.  It will definitely be my go-to mac & cheese (m&c) now.  I love m&c to be thick and creamy and rich.  This recipe delivers.

It also gave the me the opportunity to really learn how to make a roux.  My previous experiences have been Rachel Ray versions.  And of course everything is done super fast in her recipes so I have always rushed the roux.  Patience totally paid off and the roux came out fabulously.  I was so excited!

imgp2808

I’ve never baked m&c before either and of course that helped make this dish totally delicious.

Thank you Just the Two of Us.

Macaroni & Cheese

Serves 2!

Ingredients

  • 1 c. uncooked elbow macaroni (I used corkscrews)
  • 1 Tbsp. butter (I ended up using a little over a Tbsp to help the roux along)
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. ground mustard (I used Dijon since I had it on hand)
  • 1/8 tsp. Worcestershire sauce (W sauce)
  • 1 c. skim milk
  • 3/4 c. shredded cheddar (I used more like 1 cup.  I love cheese)

Cook

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Cook and drain pasta as directed.
  3. In saucepan, melt butter over low heat.
  4. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, mustard, and W sauce.
  5. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is smooth and bubbly.
  6. Remove from heat.
  7. Stir in milk.
  8. Heat to boiling over medium-low heat, stirring constantly.
  9. Boil and stir 1 minute and remove from heat.
  10. Stir in cheese until melted.
  11. Gently stir macaroni into cheese sauce.
  12. Pour into ungreased baking dish.
  13. Bake uncovered 20 to 25 minutes or until bubbly.

Source [19]

Actions

Information

One response

23 04 2009
joelen

Yum!! Creamy cheesy perfection!!

Leave a Reply

