Caesar Chicken with Orzo

21 04 2009

Sorry I have been a little MIA lately — this house business took up a lot of my time and energy last week.  I’ve started making more repeat dinners and even doing things like hot dogs and mac and cheese from a box.  As much as I love cooking and making fresh dishes, it is nice to have a break every now and again.  Plus some of that stuff (herb&butter rice, baked beans from a can, frozen tater tots — yum!) really pulls at my heart and reminds me of some of the stuff I ate as a child.

cookin da orzo

cookin da orzo

I got back into my groove a bit though, when I bought those new cookbooks.  Here’s another recipe from Just the 2 of Us.  I liked this dish — it was quick and easy.  I’m not sure we really got the taste of Caesar dressing , but it was still tasty.  We chunked the chicken instead of keeping it whole because that’s how we roll.

My only issue is that a few of the directions were a little unclear.  The dish still came out fine, but I wasn’t sure what had been messed up.  Basically, after cooking the chicken and removing from the pan (steps 2 & 3), you add water and broth to cook the orzo (steps 4 – 7).  By the time 8 minutes had passed, most of the liquid was absorbed by the pasta.  So when I got to steps 10 & 11, there wasn’t any liquid to bring to a boil/simmer.  I added a couple more splashes of chicken broth, but it didn’t last very long.  Maybe my heat was too high or I shouldn’t have cooked the orzo so long.  Who knows.  At least it was still good.

yummy

yummy

Hope you enjoy!

Caesar Chicken with Orzo

Serves 2!

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp. canola oil
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast (I used 1 large breast)
  • 1 c. reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. uncooked orzo
  • 1/2 bag (1 lb. size) frozen broccoli florets (I used half a lb. of fresh florets and it worked fine)
  • 1/2 medium red bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 2 tsp. Caesar dressing
  • pepper

Cook

  1. In skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat.
  2. Cook chicken in oil until brown on both sides.
  3. Remove from skillet and keep warm.
  4. Add broth and water to hot skillet.
  5. Heat to boiling.
  6. Stir in pasta and heat to boiling.
  7. Cook uncovered for 8 to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  8. Stir in broccoli, bell pepper and dressing.
  9. Add chicken to pasta mixture and sprinkle with pepper.
  10. Heat to boiling then reduce heat.
  11. Simmer uncovered about 5 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender and chicken is cooked through.

Source [19]

Actions

Information

One response

21 04 2009
Colleen

A nice, easy recipe with great flavors – I love it!

Leave a Reply

