Buffalo Chicken Burgers

6 04 2009

p32405062

As far as burgers go, I’m pretty much a regular beef patty and cheese kind of girl.  Ketchup only.  Every now and then I’ll put some mayo, lettuce, and tomato on there.  But for the most part, plain and simple wins every time.

p32405011

When I saw this recipe for Chicken burgers, I was intrigued.  Although I’m far from a “healthy” eater, every now and then I try.  Chicken burger just sounded healthier than beef.  WH gave it the okay and I tried it out a few weeks ago.

p3240503

Aside from the patties being a little to large for me, the overall outcome was very surprising and very good.  WH doesn’t like wing sauce very much so I got a milder sauce.  We both decided that next time I could go with a spicier or hotter sauce since it didn’t come through as much as we would have liked.

p3240508

And on a random note: we totally forgot to top with swiss cheese.  I bought it and everything.  We just forgot.  Still good though!

Buffalo Chicken Burgers

Makes 3 burgers

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb. ground chicken
  • 1/2 c. bread crumbs (original calls for panko)
  • 1/4 c. minced celery
  • 1/6 c. crumbled blue cheese
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. minced green onions
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. mayonaisse
  • 1/8 c. hot wing sauce
  • 3 buns or rolls (original calls for English muffins)
  • 3 slices leaf lettuce
  • 3 slices tomato
  • 3 slices swiss cheese — don’t forget!!

Cook:

  1. In a large bowl, combine chicken, bread crumbs, celery, blue cheese, green onion and salt.
  2. Shape mixture into 3 patties.
  3. Preheat grill to medium-high heat (we used the George Foreman).
  4. If using outdoor grill, spray grill with nonstick nonflammable cooking spray.
  5. Grill, 3 to 4 minutes per side (if using George Foreman type) OR grill covered with grill lid for 7 to 8 minutes per side on outdoor grill.  Instant read thermometer should read 165F.
  6. In a small bowl, combine mayo and wing sauce.
  7. Spread mayo mixture over bottom halves of rolls/buns.
  8. Top each with lettuce, tomato, chicken patty, and cheese.
  9. Top with additional mayo mixture if desired.

Source: [Sadly, I ripped this out of a magainze that doesn’t have a tag line at the bottom and I threw the magazine away and I don’t know what it was called.  If I figure it out, I will let you know.]

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 04 2009
Claire

Interesting…I”ve never had anything with ground chicken. I’ll probably try to make a breakfast stuffed pepper…and yes, very likely with eggs! YUM!

30 04 2009
Michele

THis looks delicious. My bf doesn’t like blue cheese (i’m not a huge fan either) but I’m sure I can substitute it for something else. I definitely am going to try this! I also am going to add your blog to my reader!

Please tell me (I feel so silly asking) what does WH stand for???

30 04 2009
thefrenchkitchen

Thanks so much! You could definitely substitute the blue cheese, but with
everything else going on in the burger, it was a huge component. You could
probably sneak it in and even you might not notice it!

4 05 2009
Michele

WH???? lol

4 05 2009
thefrenchkitchen

WH is “Wonderful Husband” 🙂

5 05 2010
Day 5: Chicken Burgers with Garlic-Rosemary Mayonnaise | Never Put Off Until Tomorrow…

[…] have had a chicken burger only once before that I remember (yes that’s an old blog of mine) and it was pretty good. […]

Leave a Reply

