Chicken Teriyaki Stir-Fry

6 03 2009

imgp2718

Mmmm-MMM!  I love this Stir Fry recipe like it’s my job!  We all know Asian cuisine is not my first choice, but I thoroughly enjoyed the recipes from Joelen’s Culinary Adventures so when I came across this recipe, I decided to try it.

imgp2713

See I love the idea of stir-fry: lots of vegetables over rice.  Teriyaki sauce I’m not so sure about.  All of my asian food experiences have been from local Chinese restaurants.  And for some reason there’s a smell that I just do not like from those places.  I really liked the idea of knowing everything that went into the teriyaki and stir-fry and making it myself. It worked out so well, too, because I already had a couple of the ingredients left over from the dishes Joelen shared with me (fresh ginger, green onion, mushrooms).

imgp2716

Dinner was so rewarding I want to make this dish all the time now!  I can’t even describe how good this recipe is — you simply must try it yourself.  My mouth is watering just from thinking about it.  MAKE IT NOW!

imgp2717

Chicken Teriyaki Stir-Fry

Makes 3 to 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c. fresh orange juice
  • 1/4 c. soy sauce
  • 1/2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. minced green onion
  • 1/2 Tbsp. minced fresh ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 2 c. broccoli florets
  • 1 c. sliced carrots
  • 4 oz. snow peas, trimmed
  • 4 oz. sliced baby bella mushrooms
  • 3/8 c. chicken broth
  • 1/2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • boneless, skinless chicken, thinkly sliced
  • Hot cooked rice

Cook

  1. In medium bowl, combine orange juice, soy sauce, garlic, honey, green onion, ginger, sesame oil, and red pepper flakes.
  2. Place chicken in a resealable back.
  3. Pour 1/4 c. orange juice mixture over chicken, reserving remaining orange juice mixture.
  4. Seal bag, and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  5. Drain & discard marinade from chicken.
  6. In a large skillet or wok, heat vegetable oil over medium-high heat.
  7. Add chicken, and cook, stirring frequently, for 5 to 6 minutes, or until the chicken is no longer pink.
  8. Remove chicken from skillet.
  9. Add broccoli, carrots, snow peas, and mushrooms to skillet; cook, stirring frequently, for 6 to 8 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.
  10. Return chicken to skillet.
  11. Add chicken broth to reserved orange juice mixture.
  12. Add cornstarch, whisking until smooth.
  13. Add mixture to skillet, and cook, stirring frequently, for 4 to 5 minutes, or until sauce thickens.
  14. Serve immediately over rice.

Source: [Sadly, I ripped this out of a magainze that doesn’t have a tag line at the bottom and I threw the magazine away and I don’t know what it was called.  If I figure it out, I will let you know.]

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 03 2009
claire

YUM! I love stir-fry. So easy and satisfying!

22 03 2009
Repeat Cooking « From the French Kitchen

[…] I?  Well, last week I spent most nights making dishes I’ve already blogged about (Stir Fry, Corn Bread Taco Bake, & Mongolian Beef – Thanks Joelen!).  Plus I made some of the March Tour […]

Leave a Reply

