February Tour Stop: Recipe #1

25 02 2009

Here’s the avatar you’ll see on each post for Tour Stops!  Thanks again to Lisa of Lime in the Coconut for designing this!

tourdefoodblogs_2

imgp2675

I loved this recipe that Joelen of Joelen’s Culinary Adventures shared with me as one of her favorites.  For such a great taste it was amazingly easy.  And considering the fact that I don’t totally love Asian food, I really enjoyed eating this.  WH was excited about it too and I will definitely be making this again.  I divided the recipe for the 2 of us and omitted one ingredient, but overall I stayed true to the original recipe.

imgp2670

Here’s why Joelen chose this recipe as one of her favorites:

“As an avid lover of Asian cuisine, my favorite Chinese dish is Mongolian Beef. The very first time I learned how to make it was as a child watching the television show, Reading Rainbow. My parents made their own version so I learned a version that appealed to me.”

imgp2674

Mongolian Beef

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch green onion, cut in 1 inch pieces
  • 1/2 lb lean beef, sliced thin
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • (1/4 cup oyster sauce — I omitted this)

Cook:

  1. Season sliced beef with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder.
  2. Sprinkle cornstarch over beef and toss to coat. Set aside.
  3. In hot pan saute garlic and onion in cooking oil until softened.
  4. Add meat and brown.
  5. Add (oyster sauce and) soy sauce; stir to coat.
  6. Just before serving, add green onions and toss.

Check out Joelen’s original recipe here!

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 02 2009
Joelen

I think I dated myself when I mentioned “Reading Rainbow!” I hope others will remember it… you know, the fun show where the song starts out with: “Butterfly in the sky, I can go twice as high…” Ooops, maybe I said too much – lol! I remember the episode like it was yesterday. That same episode, they showed how to make candied bananas, LeVar was part of the traditional Chinese Lion Dance in NYC and the book read on the show was Liang and the Magic Paintbrush. 🙂

26 02 2009
Lisa

I completely remember Reading Rainbow – and I even remember that episode. I used to love that show. I also remember the episode when he was in my hometown of Baltimore and visited the shipyards and explained what those big blue metal structures were – Blue mommas or something they were called. Anyway…I ramble.
The avatar looks great! I’m so glad you like it 🙂

2 03 2009
Christa

This looks good. It wasn’t too much eating those big hunks of green onion?

22 03 2009
Repeat Cooking « From the French Kitchen

[…] most nights making dishes I’ve already blogged about (Stir Fry, Corn Bread Taco Bake, & Mongolian Beef – Thanks Joelen!).  Plus I made some of the March Tour Stop’s recipes that I’m very […]

Leave a Reply

