January Tour Stop: Recipe #2

28 01 2009

imgp2636

Bananas seem to be a popular ingredient recently, wouldn’t you say?  Maybe I just feel that way because bananas are not my very favorite thing in the world to eat 🙂  I don’t mind a regular banana every now and then, but banana flavor is not something I get excited about.  Like I said in my post about Barefoot Contessa’s Banana Pancakes, they were okay.  However, WH said he really enjoyed the pancakes and banana flavor.

imgp2627

So when Karen of Loves to Eat listed a Banana Bread as one of her favorites, I decided to give it a try.  I’ve never made a banana bread, but I have enjoyed making other types of breads (Blueberry Zucchini and an Apple I haven’t posted yet).  This recipe was simple and worked out great as far as my grocery list goes.  I could buy a bag of walnuts and guarantee I’d use them up just by making two of Karen’s recipes (see the Cheeseball).  I was pretty happy about that since I don’t normally buy walnuts.

imgp2629

This bread turned out pretty tasty.  Again, I’m not the hugest fan of banana flavor, but the added chocolate chips gave a nice twist.  WH really likes this bread and I think he will take it to his lecture class this week to share.  I love being able to provide his classmates/work colleagues with some breakfast!

Here’s what Karen had to say about her Banana Bread:

“This is a recipe from my husband’s mom. He always enjoyed this bread growing up and I wanted to bake him something that reminds him of home even miles away. The recipe creates a very moist, deep flavored bread and I added the chocolate chips for an extra treat. This bread never lasts long in our house!”

Chocolate Chip Banana Walnut Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. oil (or shortening)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c. flour
  • 3 medium bananas mashed
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla**
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2  c. chopped walnuts (or 1 c. if you really like walnuts)
  • 1 c. chocolate chips

** When I was baking, I realized that there was no amount of vanilla listed in the recipe and I didn’t have time to ask Karen, so I just put some in, somewhere between 3/4 and 1 tsp.

Bake:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease loaf pan.
  2. Cream sugar and oil (or shortening).
  3. Beat in eggs.
  4. Add bananas and beat until well mixed.
  5. Blend in vanilla.
  6. Add all dry ingredients and blend until well mixed.
  7. Fold in nuts and chocolate chips and pour in loaf pan.
  8. Bake for 1 hour & fifteen minutes or until middle is cooked. Check with tooth pick.
  9. Cool in loaf pan for one minute.
  10. Remove from pan and cool completely on rack.

See Karen’s original recipe here!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

