January Tour Stop: Recipe #1

25 01 2009

imgp2606

I’m excited to share this recipe with you.  Karen of Loves To Eat chose it as one of her 6 favorite recipes for the Tour de Food Blogs.  Here’s what Karen had to say about her Cheeseball with Blue Cheese recipe:

“This is a very old recipe that my mom always made us on U of M football Saturdays. We couldn’t watch the game without it. Everytime I eat it I feel like I should be hearing the fight song in the back ground and hear my dad yelling at the TV!! The use of blue cheese in this recipe rather than cheddars gives it an amazing taste. Added with the onions and cream cheese this takes it from just a regular cheeseball to one that is excellent at a wine party. It is a weekend must for us!”

I have never made a cheeseball, though my mom has made her fair share.  It’s actually incredibly easy and I whipped it up in about 10 minutes.  WH enjoyed it as an “appetizer” on those nights that I was running late with dinner.  The cheeseball was very tasty and I enjoyed the different flavor of the blue cheese.  If you give this recipe a try, be sure to let Karen and me both know how it turns out!

Cheeseball with Blue Cheese

Ingredients:

2 packages cream cheese

1/2 package blue cheese (I used about half of a 4 oz. container)

1 package onion soup mix

Chopped walnuts

Cook:

Mix cream cheese, blue cheese, and onion soup. Form into ball.

Roll into chopped walnuts.

Chill overnight.

Check out Karen’s original recipe here!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

