Corn Bread Taco Bake

22 01 2009

imgp2590

This Christmas I asked for a lot of cookbooks.  I got 2 Barefoot Contessa books and a book called “Incredibly Easy, One Dish”.   That’s where I found this wonderful dish.

imgp2585

If you love cornbread, you have to try this recipe.  It was delicious.  Absolutely delicious.  WH ate so fast and so much I couldn’t believe me eyes.  He loves cornbread just like I do. As the title implies, this is a one dish meal.  I dirtied one skillet and one baking dish, that’s all.  Another easy clean up.  And there was cornbread!  YUM.

imgp2587

Again, I halved the recipe but I made the full package of cornbread.  So my version may not look like the intended product, but it was good.   I really really really recommend this recipe.  It was so tasty.  Definitely getting added to the rotation.

imgp2589

Corn Bread Taco Bake

Serves 3

Get:

  • 3/4 lb. ground beef
  • 1 ear corn, cooked and kernels cut off
  • 4 oz. tomato sauce
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 1/4 c. chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 pkg taco seasoning
  • 1 pkg. (8 & 1/2 oz.) corn muffin mix plus ingredients to prepare mix
  • 3/4 c. French’s French Fried Onions, divided (I omitted this)
  • 1/4 c. shredded Cheddar cheese (I used a Mexican blend)

Cook:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In large skillet, brown ground beef then drain fat.
  3. Stir in corn, tomoato sauce, water, bell pepper and taco seasoning.
  4. Pour mixture into baking dish.
  5. In small bowl, prepare corn muffin mix according to package directions (stir in 1/3 c. onions).
  6. Spoon corn muffin batter around edge of beef mixture.
  7. Bake, uncovered for 20 minutes or until corn bread is done.
  8. Top corn bread with cheese (and remaining onions).
  9. Bake uncovered 1 to 3 minutes (or until onions are golden brown).

Source: [16]

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 01 2009
Lisa

Mmmm that looks so good with the cheesy cornbread on top. I got your comment – I’d love to give designing an avatar for your “Tour De Foods Blog” a try! Do you have any idea what you want it to look like, colors, icons, etc.? Is there any object in particular that you want to use? Or would you rather just have the words in the avatar? Think about what you want and send me an email with your thoughts, scoops78@comcast.net. Then I can work on some designs and we can go from there!

23 01 2009
joelen

i love southwest flavors and dishes that don’t require too many pots and pans to prepare (since I don’t have a dishwasher – eek!) This looks great and what fab cookbooks you got for the holidays!

22 03 2009
Repeat Cooking « From the French Kitchen

[…] I?  Well, last week I spent most nights making dishes I’ve already blogged about (Stir Fry, Corn Bread Taco Bake, & Mongolian Beef – Thanks Joelen!).  Plus I made some of the March Tour Stop’s recipes […]

Leave a Reply

