Steak & Potatoes for WH

21 01 2009

imgp2603

I found a recipe for potatoes on Karen’s blog, Loves To Eat (our January Tour Stop!) and had to make them.  While this is not one of the recipes Karen suggested, I knew WH would love them.  On Friday I will be posting my experiences with one of Karen’s favorite recipes for the Tour.  Consider this an extra treat from Love’s To Eat.

imgp2599

When I saw this recipe I immediately decided to make steak and green beans with them (a variation on this).  WH has been asking for “steak and taters” for a while and since he took me to The Eagles Concert!!!

p1190425-1

I decided to say thank you with a delicious meal.  He enjoyed it too, saying: “I’d pay $20 for that at a restaurant”.  Why, thank you.

These potatoes are so yummy — we ate the entire dish!  The easiest recipe ever, just some garlic, butter, salt & pepper.  My cook times were a little different than the recipe and since I sprayed the dish with non-stick spray, it didn’t come together like I think was intended (you’re supposed to be able to invert onto a platter but we just ate out of the dish).  It was flipping good.

imgp2602

The steaks were seasoned with some Mrs. Dash grill seasoning and cooked on a grill pan.  I used some of Pioneer Woman’s suggestions for grilling steak, like putting butter on the grill pan.  Check out more of her tips.  Green beans were tossed with olive oil & grill seasoning and tossed on the grill pan as well.  This was one of those meals where I got every thing right.  It was really awesome and so so easy!

imgp2601

Easy Potato Bake

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 to 5 small red potatoes, sliced thin
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter
  • 1 medium clove garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper

Cook:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Coat  small casserole dish with non-stick spray.
  3. Layer potatoes in casserole dish and top with melted butter and garlic.
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Toss to coat.
  6. Cover with foil and cook for 20 – 30 minutes (depending on thickness of layers and slices)
  7. Increase oven heat to 400F; cook uncovered for a few minutes until potatoes begin to turn brown.
  8. Let cool & serve.

[Adapted from Anna Potatoes] — Thanks Karen!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 01 2009
joelen

Looks like a great meal!

22 01 2009
Julie

Hope you guys are doing well….good seeing you both at Christmas…How was your honeymoon trip?? Can’t wait to see pictures!!I will have to try the potatoes……they look good. How was the concert??? Would love to see the Eagles:)

Leave a Reply

