Bacon Wrapped Pork

24 12 2008

imgp2486

Ah, Christmas Eve… I think I like Christmas Eve even better than Christmas Day.  Christmas Eve seems more relaxing… my family goes to church, we do our immediate family Christmas gifts so that we can sleep in Christmas Day and be ready to spend the rest of the day with extended families.  I think I just like the anticipation of Christmas Eve.  I’m so excited to be home with my family for the holidays.

imgp2485

I do want to share a great recipe I made the other day.  I’ve had the recipe for a while now and was kind of scared of it.  I get easily intimidated by recipes that use ingredients I’m not familiar with or techniques I’ve never tried or seen.  Thanks to Barefoot Bloggers (mostly) I have become familiar with fennel, a main component to this dish.  So I finally felt ready to give it a try.

imgp2488

Again, turned out fabulous.  My only issue is having to cook the meat so long and burning the fennel and apricots.  I always seem to get a really fat piece of pork or beef and it takes so long to cook all the way through.  Frustrating.  Despite that issue, the dish turned out yummy and I’ll definitely try it again.

imgp2489

Bacon Wrapped Pork

4 servings

  • 1 pork tenderloin (about 1 lb)
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 tsp. pepper
  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 4 slices bacon (I only had 2)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 small fennel bulbs
  • 8 dried apricots
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Cut fennel bulbs into eighths.
  3. Cut apricots in half.
  4. Pat the pork dry with paper towels.
  5. Season with 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper.
  6. Top the pork with the thyme and wrap it with the bacon.
  7. Heat the oil in a large cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat.
  8. Add the pork and fennel.
  9. Season with the remaining salt and pepper.
  10. Cook the pork for 2 minutes per side.
  11. Add the apricots.
  12. Transfer skillet to oven and roast for 20 to 25 minutes.
  13. Let rest for 5 minutes.
  14. Slice the pork and serve with the fennel and apricots.

Source [14]

Actions

Information

One response

24 12 2008
joelen

What a great idea to wrap pork tenderloin! I can just imagine the wonderful flavors the bacon imparts on the pork. Great job!

Leave a Reply

