Coq Au Vin — Barefoot Bloggers

11 12 2008

imgp2446

I feel so disconnected from my blog!  Things have just been busy around here lately.  My work commute makes me tired everyday, WH and I have been making an effort to exercise  in some way every night and Reggie has decided that his litterbox is optional… I wish you could see my “that’s not okay” face.

imgp2439

But I’m back with big things!  I was incredibly intimidated when Barefoot Blogger Bethany of this little piggy went to market chose Coq Au Vin.  It just sounds difficult and time consuming.  I didn’t even know how to cut a whole chicken into 8ths.  Sooo I kind of cheated and bought boneless skinless chicken breasts.  I also used regular old bacon and probably didn’t get the right kind of wine, but I still went for it.

imgp2440

It turned out pretty good!  Because my chicken was boneless, I reduced the time in the oven by about half.  And as usual, I cut the recipe in half for the two of us.  You can find the original recipe here.

imgp2442

If you’ve never made Coq Au Vin, don’t be scared!  It’s not as bad as you think, I promise!

imgp2443

imgp2441

Yay for cheap, airplane bottle brandy!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 12 2008
Lisa

Your dish looks great! Glad you found the time and energy. It is hard somedays. I wonder why Reggie all of a sudden thinks his box is optional? Is he sick maybe? That’s pretty unusual for a cat to stop using the box. A friend of mine had a cat that stopped going in the box because he had somehow hurt his paw and I guess the litter was rough on it. So he would go right outside the box. I hope Reggie gets back on track soon! That is very frustrating.

13 12 2008
Home with Mandy

Your dish really does look great. I’m looking forward to making this (late) this month. I tagged you on my blog – I hope you have time to play along. Check it out for rules.

5 10 2010
Michael Beyer

I made a great variation on coq au vin–“rigatoni with braised chicken and saffron cream.” It was just unbelievably delicious!
http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/rigatoni-with-braised-chicken-and-saffron-cream/

Leave a Reply

