Tuesdays With [Parmigiano]-Reggi[ano]

25 11 2008

imgp2306

I wish I could keep up with my fun “Tuesdays with Reggie”, but unfortunately the bulk of my Reggie pictures are on my laptop which is currently out of commission. I can’t get Windows to boot, so I can’t access anything. 😦

imgp2300

This week, I thought I’d do a little play on words and post a recipe for Parmigiano-Reggi(e)ano Crusted Chicken Piccata (get it? haha i’m so clever). And yes, it’s another Rachel Ray Magazine recipe. I’m a glutton for punishment. But this recipe was a lot easier. I was actually able to cook it completely in a fairly short amount of time and without having to whine for help from WH.

imgp2299 imgp2302

I didn’t really know what “piccata” meant before making this recipe, and considering the fact that I omitted the capers from this recipe, I’m not sure how “piccata” this dish actually is. I’ve still got the tart lemon flavor, but WH hates capers and I knew he wouldn’t even touch the dish if I added them.

imgp2304

Regardless, I was quite successful with this dish, as WH brought up “the rotation” again. It’s funny because I haven’t made the same recipe twice in months (except for stuffed peppers and fajitas/tacos). Does he think the rotation is several months long? Or is he so blown away by my fabulous cooking that he doesn’t realize he hasn’t been eating the same thing twice? I’ll pretend it’s the latter 😉

imgp2305

Parmigiano-Reggiano Crusted Chicken Picatta

Serves 2

Stuff you need:

  • 1/8 c. flour
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 c. grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese
  • 2 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, pounded 1/4 inch thick
  • salt
  • 1/4 lb. angel hair pasta
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon, plus 1/2 sliced lemon
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1/8 c. flat-leaf parsley leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 c. chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp. butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
  • 2 & 1/2 oz. baby spinach
  • pepper
  • (1/8 c. capers, drained and patted dry; or 6 caper berries, sliced)

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Put the flour on a plate. In a shallow bowl, beat the eggs. Place 1/4 c. cheese on another plate.
  2. Coat each chicken cutlet with the flour, then egg, then cheese, pressing to adhere.
  3. Transfer to a plate.
  4. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add salt and then pasta. Cook until al dente.
  5. Drain, reserving a ladleful of water.
  6. In a large, nonstick skillet, heat 1 Tbsp. olive oil over medium heat.
  7. Add the chicken and cook, turning once, until deeply golden, about 10 minutes.
  8. Transfer to a platter and cover with foil.
  9. Add the remaining 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil to the skillet.
  10. Add the sliced lemon and garlic (and capers) and cook for 2 minutes.
  11. Stir in the wine and parsley and cook until reduced, about 1 minute.
  12. Lower the heat and bring to a simmer.
  13. Stir the chicken broth into the sauce for 1 minutes.
  14. Stir the butter until melted, then stir in the lemon juice.
  15. Spoon a little sauce over the chicken.
  16. Add the spinach to the remaining sauce in the skillet and cook until wilted.
  17. Add the reserved pasta water.
  18. Stir in the pasta and toss to coat; season with salt and pepper.
  19. Add the remaining cheese and toss.
  20. Serve the pasta with the chicken.

Source [11] November 2008

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2008
Lisa

I’m still laughing at the title of your post! I love it. What a cute nickname for your kitty.
I have really been slacking on Sundays with Sawyer! I need to get back into the swing of things, or he does for that matter. Can’t wait to see more of Reggie soon.

Leave a Reply

