Four Foods On Friday (56)

21 11 2008

#1. What’s the worst tasting food you’ve ever eaten?

It’s a toss up between brussels sprouts and beets.

#2. Share a funny or embarrassing story about a meal you’re made.

I was making tacos and trying to be fancy with seasoning. Instead of using the package of taco seasoning, I decided to use cumin. I had only used cumin once before and I had a recipe to follow. This time I was on my own to judge how much should go in. So I seasoned and served… Do you remember those steak sauce commercials where people would point to parts of their mouth and throat and say “it gets you right here… and here” and they meant it in a good way? Well, my husband and I would have been grabbing our throats saying “it gets you right here” in a bad way. Our eyes were watering and our throats were on fire… WAY too much cumin. Way. Too. Much.

I also heard from an older friend that when she was first married, she started trying her skills in the kitchen. A recipe called for a clove of garlic and she put in what she thought was a clove of garlic. Turns out she mistook a bulb of garlic for a clove and had put the entire bulb of garlic into the dish. Tragic.

#3. What food do you burn or have problems cooking most often?

Anything that has to be pan fried or seared. I can’t do it without burning it or I end up with a piece of meat that’s too thick to fully cook. I’m working on it…

#4. Name two foods you’ll be eating on this Thanksgiving.

Mashed potatoes & green beans!

Actions

Information

5 responses

22 11 2008
Typ0

I so hear you on the brussels sprouts!! They are my father’s favorite vegetable we always had them growing up but i just don’t like the taste.

22 11 2008
Karen

I looove brussel sprouts! No one else in my family does though.

23 11 2008
Fun, Crafts and Recipes | What I learned from Four Foods On Friday 56

[…] Amy thinks brussel sprouts and beets are the worst things she’s ever tasted. […]

24 11 2008
thefrenchkitchen

TypO — My mom loves brussels sprouts and while she never forced us to eat any growing up, she seems to always make them when I visit for dinner. I tried them once and it was horrible! I do, however, support her love of the disgusting food by sending her new recipes for brussels sprouts.

27 06 2013
What I learned from Four Foods On Friday 56 : From Val's Kitchen

[…] Amy thinks brussel sprouts and beets are the worst things she’s ever tasted. […]

Leave a Reply

