Barefoot Bloggers — Herb-Roasted Onions

17 11 2008

imgp2317

As I mentioned, I joined Barefoot Bloggers and was ready to begin with Novembers recipes. Of course, on my first assignment, I’m late. Ugh. I was able to cook the Herb-Roasted Onions on Friday but life got in the way and I’m only now posting. Hopefully I will be able to post the next recipe on time!

imgp2320

Would I have ever considered onions as a side dish? No. Would I recommend these onions as a side dish? ABSOLUTELY. Such a simple recipe and yet such delicious results. I normally don’t like red onions very much but the flavor was fabulous. As you can see from some of the pictures, I probably let these cook a little too long, but they were still really good.

imgp2318

Other Barefoot Bloggers suggested using a little less than the 1tsp. Dijon Mustard, which I did (by a smidgen). I did not feel the mustard taste was overwhelming though.

imgp2321

Another issue some BB’s encountered was the lack of left over dressing. As long as you strain the onions well before putting them on the baking sheet, you should have plenty of dressing left over for drizzling.

imgp2322

And something you might notice from my pictures: I did not read the directions carefully enough and mixed the parsley leaves into the dressing before cooking, instead of sprinkling parsley after the onions had cooked. Oops. I didn’t feel it was a horrible mistake, but will definitely read my directions more closely next time 😉

imgp2323

Herb-Roasted Onions

Serves 3

Stuff you need:

  • 1 red onion
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 Tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 Tbsp. minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/2 Tbsp. minced fresh parsley leaves

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Remove the stem end of each onion and slice off the brown part of the root end, leaving the root intact.
  3. Peel the onion and cut into wedges through the root.
  4. Place the wedges in a bowl.
  5. For the dressing, combine the lemon juice, mustard, garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.
  6. Slowly whisk in the olive oil.
  7. Pour the dressing over the onions and toss well.
  8. With a slotted spoon, transfer the onions to a sheet pan, reserving the vinaigrette that remains in the bowl.
  9. Bake the onions for 30 to 45 minutes, until tender and browned.
  10. Toss the onions once during cooking.
  11. Remove from the oven and drizzle with the reserved dressing.
  12. Sprinkle with parsley, season to taste, and serve warm or at room temperature.

Thanks to Kelly of Baking with the Boys for choosing this recipe!

Source [FN]

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/herb-roasted-onions-recipe/index.html

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

