Baby Beef Stew Classico

5 11 2008

pa290198

As I’ve mentioned, when WH has to meet with his group and work on a report, he doesn’t get home until around 9pm. I’ve found a few recipes that work well for reheating and sometimes I just wait until he gets home. But since it is fall and for a few days it was actually cold here in South Carolina, I decided to make Beef Stew in the slow cooker.

imgp2233

Holy moly was it delicious! The recipe calls for an ingredient I’ve never cooked with before, like sun-dried tomatoes. Not exotic or anything, but something I did not grow up eating. It was fun to use new ingredients. I especially loved the layer of taste and aroma from the red wine. WH wasn’t a huge fan, but the more I ate, the more I could taste it and I loved it.

imgp2234

This recipe was also great because it’s from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Recipes for Two by Beth Hensperger. My mom actually has this cookbook and when WH got a crock pot for Christmas, I made tons of recipe copies before heading back to school.pa290194

I call this recipe a complete success and can’t wait for it to get “cold” here again! I also made some Bisquick biscuits (mix and milk). They were a fabulous addition to the stew. I’ll be adding this recipe to the fabled “rotation” 😉

pa290197

Baby Beef Stew Classico

Serves 2

Stuff you need:

  • 1 lb. lean, boneless chuck roast (I bought the pre-cubed chuck)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • small yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/4 lb. baby carrots
  • 6 oz. baby red potatoes, halved or quartered
  • 1 & 1/2 c. beef broth
  • 1/2 c. dry red wine
  • 2 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 4 sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1/4 c. frozen peas, thawed

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Season beef cubes with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat the oil until very hot in skillet over medium heat.
  3. Add the meat cubes to skillet and brown on all sides, 4 to 5 minutes.
  4. Spray a 1 & 1/2 to 3 quart slow cooker with nonstick cooking spray.
  5. Add the onion, carrots, and potatoes to the slow cooker.
  6. Add the meat, broth, wine, tomato paste, sun-dried tomatoes, and thyme.
  7. Mix well.
  8. Cover and cook on HIGH for 4 to 5 hours (or LOW for 7 to 8 hours), until meat is fork-tender.
  9. When there are 30 minutes of cooking time left, knead the butter and flour together in a small bowl with a fork.
  10. Add the butter-flour ball to the slow cooker and stir until melted.
  11. Add the peas.
  12. Cover and cook another 30 minutes.
  13. Season to taste and serve hot.

Source [10]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

