My Favorite Quesadillas

30 10 2008

I love quesadillas. And when I say “love”, I mean LOVE. I’d eat them everyday forever if I had to. They are just that good. Lucky for me, I learned a simple, delicious recipe from my mom that makes perfect chicken quesadillas.

Obviously, you can put whatever you want in a quesadilla. So feel free to mix and match ingredients. But here’s my favorite quesadilla combination.

Stuff you need:

  • 1 ear of corn, cooked and kernels cut off the cob
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1/2 lb. chicken tenders
  • Shredded cheese, Mexican blend
  • 6 tortillas
  • olive oil
  • Southwest Chipotle seasoning (I used Mrs. Dash)

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Heat olive oil in 2 skillets over medium heat.
  2. Season chicken tenders and place in one skillet.
  3. Put corn kernels in second skillet and let stand (without moving them around) for 4 to 5 minutes. Set aside.
  4. When chicken is cooked, let sit a few minutes and chop into bite size pieces. Set aside.
  5. Add small amount of olive oil to skillet that chicken was cooked in and saute vegetables until tender. Don’t forget to season with Southwest Chipotle seasoning.
  6. When done, set vegetables aside with with corn and chicken.
  7. Wipe out skillet corn was cooked in and place one tortilla in skillet.
  8. Warm tortilla and flip until warmed through. Set on plate under paper towel. Repeat until all tortillas are warmed through.
  9. Place one pre-warmed tortilla in bottom of skillet.
  10. Sprinkle with cheese, chicken and vegetable mix.
  11. Sprinkle with more cheese and place a tortilla on top.
  12. Allow quesadilla to warm. Once cheese is very melty, flip and let warm a little while longer.
  13. Cut into triangles and top with sour cream, salsa, etc etc.
  14. ENJOY!
Actions

Information

One response

20 11 2008
Sophie

Recipes from our moms are always the best :). I like how these include veggies, it gives them a healthy twist. I’d like to include this recipe on our blog, please let me know if you’re interested!

Thanks,
Sophie, Key Ingredient Chief Blogger
sophie@keyingredient.com

Leave a Reply

