Four Foods on Friday (48)

26 09 2008

#1.  Melon. What’s your favorite kind?

Have to be honest, not a huge melon fan.  I’d have to go with watermelon if I absolutely had to choose.

#2.  Orange citrus. What’s your favorite – oranges, nectarines, navel oranges, tangerines, etc.

Mmm, oranges.  I especially love the smell of oranges and orange juice dripping down my chin.

#3.  Oreos. What kind is your favorite? (Don’t eat Oreos? What about olives?)

OMG I cannot tell you how much I LOVE Oreos.  Please see this post for details.  Oreos are my weakness, really they are.  If I had to choose between Oreos and my fiance, well I’d probably choose my fiance, but it would be a tough call.

#4.  Pot pie. Share a recipe. (No pot pie recipe? What about a casserole or some other hot meal you bake?)

I’ve never made a pot pie although my fiance has requested it.  Here’s a recipe for Chicken Divan that my mom makes.  I haven’t baked it in a long time, but this might be the inspiration I need.

Chicken Divan

Serves 8

Stuff you need:

  1. 4 or 5 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into chunks
  2. 2 bunches fresh broccoli, cooked crisp
  3. 1 1/2 c. mayo
  4. 1 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
  5. 3 cans cream of chicken mushroom soup
  6. 2-3 c. shredded cheddar cheese
  7. 2 c. Italian bread crumbs
  8. 2 Tbsp. melted butter

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Arrange broccoli in bottom of large baking dish.
  2. Place chicken pieces on top.
  3. Combine sauce ingredients and pour over top.
  4. Sprinkle with cheese.
  5. Combine bread crumbs and butter and sprinkle over dish.
  6. Bake uncovered 30 to 45 minutes at 350 degrees.

Source: [FF]

Actions

Information

9 responses

26 09 2008
claire

I love chicken divan…but I make it with curry in it. Mmmm!!!

26 09 2008
Tina Kubala

May you never have to make that choice…

26 09 2008
thefrenchkitchen

claire — my mom’s recipe calls for curry but she has never used it. I might have to try it next time I make the dish.

26 09 2008
thefrenchkitchen

Tina Kubala — haha! I hope I never have to make that choice either 😉

26 09 2008
Karen

LOL I think you like Oreos! Have you ever made an Oreo dessert?

26 09 2008
thefrenchkitchen

Karen – I have made the instant Oreo pie that is put out by Jello (I think). Man can I eat that up. I have a couple Oreo dessert recipes in my file for after my wedding 😉 Any other suggestions?

27 09 2008
Sheri

Here’s another suggestion – Oreo Cheesecake!

http://www.kraftfoods.com/kf/recipes/philly-oreo-cheesecake-52809.aspx

My youngest daughter requested Oreo Cheesecake for her birthday last year, and that’s the recipe I used. It’s really delicious.

27 09 2008
Fun, Crafts and Recipes | What I learned from Four Foods On Friday 48

[…] Amy likes oranges and shared a recipe for Chicken Divan. […]

27 06 2013
What I learned from Four Foods On Friday 48 : From Val's Kitchen

[…] Amy likes oranges and shared a recipe for Chicken Divan. […]

Leave a Reply

