Chicken & Grapes with Creamy Mustard Sauce & Couscous

25 09 2008

It’s been a while, but I finally ventured back into my Rachel Ray 30 Minute Meals cookbooks.  Her recipes usually take me two or three tries before I get them just right.  It took me like 6 attempts of a mac and cheese recipe before I got the roux to where it really tasted good and not grainy or floury.  Quite a celebration followed that accomplishment.

While this recipe did not turn out perfectly, it did have good flavor and it’s fast.  The cookbook claimed it was a 15 minute meal (for real).  I have to admit that it was completely done and on the table in 20 minutes and I’m not kidding.  While I was standing at the stove waiting through the final simmer I seriously thought to myself, “Wow, I feel like I just started and I’m already done”.  It really is fast.  And it seems kinda fancy, at least compared to our typical meals of pasta and… pasta.

I think part of my problem this time was using a smooth mustard instead of a grainy, stone-ground mustard.  This is also my first time cooking with wine (gasp!  I know, I’m such a newbie), so I might not have allowed that to reduce as much as I should have.  Regardless, WF enjoyed it and I was pleased with myself.

Another first: making couscous.  WF really likes it and when he saw this on the recipe list, he got excited.  I’ve eaten couscous twice.  Once a coworker made it.  The second time was with WF: we ate couscous on a camping trip.  That’s about it.  I don’t dislike couscous, I think the texture is just different than what I am used to.  Making boxed couscous is super easy though.  I was surprised.  It sounds like it would be more difficult – ha.

So here’s a tasty, easy, and fast (for real) meal.

Chicken and Grapes with Creamy Mustard Sauce and Couscous

Serves 2

Stuff you need:

  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, cut into pieces
  • 3 to 4 boneless, skinless chicken tenders
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/3 c. white wine
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 1/4 c. grainy stone-ground mustard (I used what we had on hand: hot and sweet deli mustard… we’re so gourmet around here)
  • 1 cup seedless red grapes, halved
  • 1 1/4 c. chicken broth
  • 1 box (5.7 oz.) couscous

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Place flour in a shallow bowl.
  2. Place a large skillet over medium to medium-high heat.
  3. Add 1 Tbsp. of olive oil and the butter to the skillet.
  4. Dredge chicken in the flour and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Add chicken to skillet and cook until browned, about 7 to 8 minutes.
  6. Add wine and scrape up browned bits as wine comes to a bubble.
  7. Cook the liquid down, 30 seconds to a minute.
  8. Combine half-and-half and mustard and pour the mixture over the chicken.
  9. Add grapes to the pan and shake to coat chicken and grapes in sauce.
  10. Reduce heat to low and simmer 3 to 5 minutes more.
  11. Meanwhile, bring chicken broth and a drizzle of olive oil to a boil.
  12. Add couscous.
  13. Remove pan from heat and cover.
  14. Let couscous sit 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.
  15. Serve mounds of couscous with chicken and grapes alongside or over the top.

Source: [5]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

