Skillet Chicken Alfredo

22 09 2008

I learned early on that the key to WF’s heart was through his very easy to please stomach.  Cook chicken.  Cook pasta.  Throw in a simple sauce like Alfredo and voila — WF is as happy as Reggie when we spoil him with way too many treats. I think WF loves me because I make pasta for him.  Honestly, if I didn’t like pasta I’m not sure we’d be getting married in less than 3 weeks.

Needless to say, when I came across this recipe, I knew it would be a winner.  I was right.  WF proclaimed that this dish should be added to “the rotation” (which I didn’t realize we had, but I suppose we do now).

Skillet Chicken Alredo over Fettuccine

Serves 2-3

Stuff you need:

  • 5 oz. broccoli florets
  • 6 oz. skinless, boneless chicken tenderloins
  • 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 10 oz. container Alfredo pasta sauce
  • Fettuccine, cooked

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Season broccoli with salt and pepper.
  2. Steam until tender.
  3. Cut chicken into bite size pieces.
  4. In a large skillet, cook chicken in hot oil until tender and no longer pink.
  5. Drain fat.
  6. Stir in Alfredo sauce.
  7. Simmer for 2 to 3 minutes or until sauce is heated through.
  8. Add broccoli to sauce and warm through.
  9. Add cooked Fettuccine noodles to sauce and toss to coat.

Other stuff you might want to know:

  • This recipe can also be made with asparagus.
  • The original recipe calls for English muffins or bagels, split and toasted.  Instead of using pasta, the broccoli is arranged on top of the bread and covered with the chicken and sauce.

Source: [2]

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 09 2008
claire

Ha! The rotation. My mom had a rotation when she was little and we had certain day rotations (i.e., Fridays were either pizza or tacos, Saturday breakfast pancakes or waffles, Sunday breakfast Honey Buns or muffins)…I think that if I ever get married, I’ll have to come up with a rotation!

1 12 2010
Infrared Camera

i always visit food blogs because i always like to do some home cooked meals .;;

Leave a Reply

