Four Foods on Friday (47) and a Recipe!

19 09 2008

(Four Foods on Friday)

#1. Share a recipe for something Italian.

Lasagna is Italian right?  I love my lasagna recipe here

#2. Jam, jelly, preserves, marmalade, fruit butter or butter. What’s on your toast or bread?

Jelly!  I LOVE grape jelly.  Especially on toast. Jam is a close second, and I’ve never had preserves, marmalade or fruit butter.  And of course I love regular butter.  On lots of things.  Now I’m getting hungry! 😉

#3.  What’s your favorite Kellogg’s product? (Since they’re multinational I’m hoping everyone can answer this one. If you don’t have Kellogg’s products, what’s your favorite cold breakfast cereal?)

I love the Keebler cookies with M&M’s baked in.  (I think it’s Kellog’s).  Those cookies are my weakness.  I like to put them in the fridge so they are nice and cold when I eat them.  Now I’m gonna have to go buy some!

#4. Do you like liver? What about liverwurst?

Um, no.  I’ve never had them, but am not really interested in eating them.  I get picky at times.

Okay, this next recipe had its high points and its low points.  The low points are definitely due to the cook (moi).  I admit it, I messed up some of the proportions and then paniced and well, I don’t want to talk about it.  haha.

This recipe looks delicious in the cookbook picture.  And it should have been easy except I didn’t pay much attention to how much rice I actually had and how much liquid I actually added.  Unfortunately, the dinner came out more as mushy rice and chicken instead of delicious Tex-Mex Chicken & Rice Skillet.  I do have a silver lining though, two actually. (1) THE FLAVOR.  It was phenomenal!  I want to try this again and not screw it up, because omg — so tasty. (2) CARAMELIZED CORN — holy moly do I love caramelized corn now.  It’s so easy and simple and yet makes such a huge difference.  Huge I tell you, HUGE!

I strongly suggest you try this recipe and not ruin it like I did. 😉

Tex-Mex Chicken & Rice Skillet

Stuff you need:

  • 1 tsp. plus 1 Tbsp vegetable oil, divided
  • 2 ears of corn (I used white because that’s what I like and what we had); see substitution below
  • 4 chicken tender strips
  • 1 Tbsp. taco seasoning
  • 1 c. uncooked instant white rice
  • 1 c. chicken broth
  • 7 oz. can salsa verde (This is the first time I used this — found in the Hispanic foods aisle.  Very tasty!)
  • Shredded Mexican cheese
  • cilantro (optional)

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Add 1 tsp. oil to skillet and heat over medium-high heat until shimmering.
  2. Meanwhile, cook corn on the cob according to directions below.
  3. Cut corn off cob and add to skillet.
  4. Cook without stirring for 5 minutes or until caramelized on one side.
  5. Remove corn from skillet and set aside.
  6. As corn cooks, cut chicken into bite size pieces.
  7. Combine chicken and taco seasoning in a bowl.
  8. Add chicken to skillet.  Cook over medium-high heat 5 to 7 minutes or until center of chicken is no longer pink.
  9. Remove chicken and set aside.
  10. Add remaining Tbsp. of oil to skillet.
  11. Add rice and stir until well coated with oil.
  12. Add broth and salsa; bring to a simmer over medium-high heat.
  13. Cover skillet and reduce heat to low.
  14. Simmer 5 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed.
  15. Chop cilantro if desired.
  16. To serve, spoon chicken over rice mixture in Skillet.  Sprinkle with cheese and corn.
  17. Cover, let stand 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.
  18. Sprinkle with cliantro if desired.

Other stuff you might want to know:

Cooking corn:

  • If your corn is still in the husk, place each ear of corn (individually) into the microwave for 3 minutes.  Shuck.
  • If your corn is already shucked, fill a microwave-safe dish with small amount of water.  Put ears of corn in the dish and microwave for 2 to 3 minutes.

Substitutions:

  • Instead of using fresh corn, you can substitute an 11oz can of Mexican-style corn.  Drain the corn and pat dry with paper towels before caramelizing.

Adapted from: [1]

Actions

Information

One response

19 09 2008
Best recipes from around the web » Four Foods on Friday (47) and a Recipe!

[…] thefrenchkitchen wrote a fantastic post today on “Four Foods on Friday (47) and a Recipe!”Here’s ONLY a quick extractShare a recipe for something Italian. Lasagna is Italian right? I love my lasagna recipe here #2. Jam, jelly, preserves, marmalade, fruit butter or butter. What’s on your toast or bread? Jelly! I LOVE grape jelly. Especially on toast. … […]

Leave a Reply

