(Late) Wedding Wednesdays AND Ritzy Chicken Bites

18 09 2008

I have been a slacker. I admit it. I haven’t posted like I should and I know it. But I’ve been sick and have slept more in the past few days than I think ever in my life. I’m feeling a lot better today, so I’ve decided to give a wedding update and a recipe!

First, the wedding: I had my first major freak out day yesterday. Up to this point (for the most part) things have been going smoothly and I’ve been very nonchalant about everything. It’s all coming together… things are working out… everything will be just fine. POP! That was the sound my bubble made when I suddenly decided that we have way too much to do in 3 weeks!!! Thankfully, I talked to my mom, WF, and one of my bridesmaids about everything and I’m back to feeling like we will be okay. WF and I have major plans for the weekend. We will be tackling a long list of randomness that needs to be done. Mom promised to clear her calendar once I’m home so that all we are doing is wedding stuff. My bridesmaid (who is getting married in May) provided a little “people are stupid” forum that allowed us both to vent about the realization we’ve come to regarding weddings: people are stupid.

And that’s the wedding update. Now onto a dish that was sorta passed from my mom. I’m not sure she ever made this for us, but it seemed simple enough. I will say the recipe I am going to list below lacks some flavor, but there are many ways to remedy that! And of course I have shared our ideas at the bottom.

Ritzy Chicken Bites

Stuff you need:

  • chicken strips, cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 sleeve of Ritz crackers

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Spray a baking dish with PAM.
  3. Beat the eggs in a bowl large enough to soak the chicken.
  4. Crush the Ritz crackers in a bag to desired crumbiness (Yeh I just made that up).
  5. Soak the chicken bites in the egg and then transfer to the cracker bag.
  6. Coat chicken with cracker crumbs and place in baking dish.
  7. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

Other stuff you might want to know:

  • Ritz crackers have good flavor, just not really enough to stand up to a chicken bite. WF and I will try some different flavoring techniques next time. Adding anything to the cracker crumb bag will increase the flavor. Examples: salt and pepper; grated parmesan (WF’s fave idea); Italian seasoning; any other herb or spice. You get the idea.

Source: [FF]

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 09 2008
Christa

I hope you continue to get better! I’ll drink a beer for you tomorrow at Octoberfest… The wedding stuff will all work out in the end. It’s enlightening how little of the details really matter once you get to the big day, I only say this in retrospect of course. The wedding is gonna be awesome!

Oh and I have no idea what WF stands for, it’s killing me. What is the W?

18 09 2008
thefrenchkitchen

Aw man don’t tell you know who we are missing Octoberfest 😦 I miss you guys!! I’m really looking forward to the wedding too! I got a lot of little things done today and feel a lot better.

The W stands for Wonderful silly 😉 I think I must have put that somewhere in an early post. I can’t believe you haven’t asked before now lol

19 09 2008
Lisa

Looks great! Also I passed on a excellence award to your blog!

19 09 2008
Julie

The parmesan cheese would probably be very good. I do the tenders with italian bread crumbs (in a canister) and parmesan cheese and they are very good. Hope you have a good weekend! See you next Sunday:)

19 09 2008
thefrenchkitchen

Julie,
Yes that sounds good *and* easy. See you soon!!

Leave a Reply

