Please Sir I Want… S’more Bars!

16 09 2008

I’ve been slacking on posts more than I’d like, but I have an excuse.  WF and I were gone this past weekend and I’ve been very sick for the past few days 😦  I “slept” – more like fell asleep and woke up a million times – for like 16 hours the other night.  I felt awful.  I’m still not completely better, but I’m hoping to be healthy in the next few days.  I cannot be sick at my own wedding!!  But enough about that, onto some food!

I saw this recipe in another Pampered Chef cookbook, “Delicious Desserts” and knew I had to try it.  WF and I love S’mores and even made some the night we got engaged 😉  (We were camping)

These are easy to make and WF said they were right on point taste-wise.  One downsde: if they don’t get eaten the same day, the graham crackers get soft and the whole s’more effect is lost.  I was so excited to make these I didn’t even consider halving the recipe like usual.  Oops 0:-)

Nonetheless, we enjoyed these delicious treats while they lasted.  I hope you do too!

Please Sir I Want S’more Bars

Makes 24 bars

Stuff you need:

  • 20 whole graham crackers, divided
  • About 9 oz. milk chocolate candy (I bought a large Hershey’s bar and 2 regular sized bars)
  • 16 oz. mini marshmallows, divided
  • 6 Tbsp. butter, divided
  • 3 Tbps. milk

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Make a single layer of graham crackers to completely cover a cookie sheet that has raised sides.
  3. Toast in the oven for 2 minutes.  Remove to a cooling rack.
  4. Coarsely break the remaining graham crackers into a bowl and set aside.
  5. Coarsely chop the chocolate bars and set aside.
  6. Combine 3 cups of the marshmallows, 3 Tbsp. of the butter and the milk in a small microwave safe container.
  7. Microwave on HIGH 1 minute.
  8. Stir until smooth.
  9. Add half of the chopped chocolate and stir until chocolate is completely melted.
  10. Using a spreader, spread the marshmallow mixture evenly over the graham cracker layer in the pan.
  11. Melt remaining 3 Tbsp. of butter and toss with broken graham crackers.
  12. Add remaining marshmallows and chocolate; toss.
  13. Spoon evenly over the mixture in the pan.
  14. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until the marshmallows are lightly browned.
  15. Cool and cut into bars.

Source: [4]

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 09 2008
claire

Mmmmm…reminds me of Rocky Road bars except with graham crackers instead of brownies.

22 09 2008
Tartelette

It’s 10am and I positively want them now too….arghhh…torture!!!
Sounds fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

