“French” Sweet & Sour Chicken

11 09 2008

I’ve never been a huge fan of Asian food. It just doesn’t really appeal to me. I rarely order Chinese and I’ve never had Thai or Korean food. The one time I had Japanese I got my first (and only) migraine. Whenever anyone orders Sweet and Sour chicken, the smell just makes my stomach turn a little. I know it’s sad, but it’s true.

Based on this you may be wondering why I’m posting about Sweet & Sour Chicken. I don’t even know what attracted me to the recipe in the first place. I was clipping coupons (woo!) and saw the little recipe next to a coupon. I knew that WF would like it because he really loves Chinese food. He was pretty surprised when I added it to our menu list.

I still can’t really explain what drew me to it, but it was a success! I really enjoyed it, especially the pineapples.

“French” Sweet and Sour Chicken

The “French” part really just refers to this blog 😉

Serves 2 to 3

Stuff you need:

  • 1 c Jasmine Rice (uncooked)
  • 1/2 bag of frozen vegetables, thawed OR fresh veggies of your choice
  • 1 c cooked chicken, diced
  • 4 oz can pineapple tidbits, drained
  • 5 oz Sweet & Sour sauce
  • 1/2 Tbsp. Soy sauce
  • Chow Mein noodles (optional)
  • Vegetable Oil

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Prepare rice according to package directions.
  2. Heat oil in large skillet over high heat.
  3. Add vegetables.
  4. Stir and cook 2 minutes.
  5. Add chicken and pineapples and cook for another 2 minutes.
  6. Add sweet & sour sauce and soy sauce.
  7. Stir in skillet until mixture is warm.
  8. Serve over hot cooked rice.
  9. Sprinkle with noodles (optional)

Adapted from Veggieful Sweet & Sour Chicken, lachoy.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

