Perfect Stuffed Peppers

8 09 2008

After a weekend filled with wedding-type things … dress fitting, DJ meeting, huge family shower … WF and I are back into our normal routine except for the large quantity of shower gifts sitting in our living room. We have SO much stuff — it’s amazing!! Lots of fun kitchen stuff too 😀 I can’t wait to get into all of it.

We were able to unpack a few items and I used them to prepare dinner. And with that, onto the food!

“These are perfect.” – WF on my Stuffed Peppers, Monday, September 9, 2008; approximately 8:15pm.

This is truly monumental — I’m not sure WF has ever mentioned the word “perfect” regarding anything I’ve baked or cooked. Not to say he hasn’t been complimentary about my cooking, but nothing has been “perfect”, even I’ll admit that.

But I must say, the stuffed peppers were, in fact, perfect and so I have named them “Perfect Stuffed Peppers”. This is another one of those recipes that my mom gave to me from the family. I’ve been making this for a long time but of course, this time I tweaked it based on the fact that I had some fresh veggies and forgot to make sure I had the intended cheese. The result, thankfully, was “perfect”.

In the recipe, I’ve list what I did for this particular dinner, and in parenthesis I’ve let you know how the original recipe was intended. Although, I have to say, I love my “perfect” version. 😉

Perfect Stuffed Peppers

Serves 3-4

Stuff you need:

  • 3 to 4 green peppers, tops cut off, seeds and ribs removed
  • 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • small onion, chopped
  • small green pepper, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced or grated (original recipe calls for 1/2 tsp. garlic powder)
  • 1 bag of Boil -n- Bag rice
  • approx. 7.5 oz diced tomatoes
  • 1 to 2 small tomatoes, chopped (not in original recipe, substitute with more diced tomatoes)
  • 3 oz tomato paste
  • shredded mozzarella
  • shredded white cheddar (not in original recipe)
  • shredded parmesan (not in original recipe)
  • salt & pepper
  • oregano (not in original recipe)

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Brown beef, onions, peppers, and garlic in large skillet over medium heat.
  3. Add salt, pepper, and oregano,
  4. Add tomatoes and tomato paste.
  5. Let mixture simmer.
  6. Bring large pot of water to boil.
  7. Add green peppers by letting water fill the peppers and then stand peppers upright in the boiling water.
  8. Let boil for about 5 minutes, or until the peppers change color.
  9. Remove peppers and put in a small baking dish.
  10. Add bag of rice to boiling water and boil for 10 minutes.
  11. Stir rice into the beef mixture.
  12. Sprinkle cheese in bottom of each pepper.
  13. Layer beef mixture and cheese in each pepper, ending with cheese.
  14. Bake for 15 minutes. or until cheese is melted and peppers are warmed through.
  15. Leftover beef mixture can be eaten on it’s own with cheese sprinkled on top.

Source: [FF]

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 10 2008
Four Foods on Friday (53) « From the French Kitchen

[…] check out my Perfect Stuffed Peppers — made them again the other day. Always […]

12 06 2010
Day 43: Stuffed Zucchini « Never Put Off Until Tomorrow…

[…] am a fan of stuffed vegetable meals.  My mom has been making stuffed peppers since I was a kid and it was one of the first recipes I learned to make on my own.  Since then I […]

21 09 2010
Michael Beyer

I make a good stuffed pepper too, although with a chicken parmesan filling.
http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/michaels-stuffed-bell-peppers-with-chicken-parmesan-filling/

14 08 2013
how to paypal money

Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this
post and also the rest of the site is also very good.

Leave a Reply

