Wedding Wednesdays!

3 09 2008

In case you haven’t heard, I’m getting married in October. October 10 — that’s 37 days from today. HOLY CRAP. From now on (until the wedding), Wednesdays will be devoted to information about the wedding.

WF and I (and my mom) have gotten a lot done since the end of May and now we are down to the details. LOTS of details. We are getting married in my hometown in Virginia where most of my family lives. WF’s family are from North Carolina and Maryland (mostly). We mailed the invitations a few weeks ago and have already gotten a lot of responses. So far 70+ have said they are coming. That is less than 1/3 of the total invited. Yes, that’s right. We invited 300+ guests. Why, you may ask? Because we are crazy. And we have big families and lots of good friends. But mostly we’re crazy.

Did I mention we are planning a wedding in less than 5 months? That should have tipped you off on the crazy.

It’s a good kind of crazy, though. We’ve got it all under control. The big things are done (caterer, photographer, florist, DJ, etc…) now it’s things like making the favors, designing the program, booking the limo, etc. And picking our first dance song which has been kinda hard since WF and I are quite particular about music and songs.

POST A COMMENT: What song did you have your first dance to at your wedding?

Another big detail (that we love) is the parties! I’ve already had 2 bridal showers (thank you!!!) and this Saturday we are having a couples/family party/shower given by my Matron of Honor and the Best Man (who just happen to be married to each other – cute right? :)) A lot of Matt’s family is supposed to be coming to this party which is great because so far I’ve only met some of them. My parents have only met WF’s parents and his mom has met a few of my grandmothers and an aunt. There’s a lot of meeting to still go around.

WF and I have also gotten together the thank you gifts for our parents. I’m really excited about these gifts, but can’t tell you about them until after they are given — mom reads the blog (Hi mom!) I’ll be sure to post about them once they have been received.

There’s so much going on in my head about the wedding, so many little things to think about and do. Makes me understand why some people get wedding coordinators. It really is a job! Good thing I’m not otherwise employed 😉

I’ll finish this post up with a picture of our wedding bands (which we both LOVE and want to start wearing NOW). We are still deciding what to engrave in them. I’ll keep you updated.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 09 2008
Trisha

Oh, pretty rings! Congrats on your upcoming marriage. I’ve been married for… um… a while, and it’s the best. Enjoy the planning!

4 09 2008
thefrenchkitchen

Thanks, Trish!

I’m really excited and can’t wait for the day to be here! In the meantime, lots to do… 😉

Leave a Reply

