“Brookies” aka Brownie Cookies

2 09 2008

The French Kitchen was very busy this Labor Day weekend. The night before the Tech game in Charlotte (which I refuse to talk about :-P) I decided to make these brownie-cookies, which I have cleverly named “Brookies”. They were fun to make and I had some fun cutting out football shapes. WF and I met my dad in Charlotte to watch the game and I took a bag of the cookies to him.

I have to be honest, these aren’t my most favorite cookies. They aren’t bad, they just aren’t exactly a flavor of cookie I love. The cookies are pretty chocolatey which normally would be good, but these are just a little too chocolatey for me. Not rich, but just… not my taste. The texture is good and almost exactly like a brownie. That might have been part of what was off-putting for WF and me. You just don’t expect a cookie to be this consistency/texture.

One idea I’ve been thinking about but haven’t had a chance to try is making ice cream sandwiches with the cookies. If I get to that, I’ll let you know. But for now, here is the recipe. 🙂

“Brookies”

Stuff you need:

  • 3 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 stick salted butter (softened)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 lg eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 c unsweetened cocoa

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Whisk dry flour, salt and baking powder in bowl.
  2. In separate bowl, mix butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and cocoa in mixer (or with hand mixer).
  3. Gradually add flour mixture and mix until smooth.
  4. Cover with plastic and chill for at least one hour (my cookie dough chilled for about 3 because I was also cooking dinner. I had to work it a little harder once I brought it out to cut).
  5. After chilled, preheat over to 350.
  6. Roll out cookie dough on floured surface. (I used a glass in place of a rolling pin)
  7. Bake on parchment lined cookie sheet for 7 to 8 minutes or until the edges are firm and the centers are slightly soft and puffed.
  8. Cool on wire rack.

Other stuff you might want to know:

  • Try making an ice cream sandwich and let me know how it turns out!

Adapted from: Smitten Kitchen

Actions

Information

One response

3 09 2008
mom

I actually really liked these “brookies” – I’ve been meaning to ask you (during our last 16 conversations since Saturday) but keep forgetting, what these were exactly. By the time they got home, they were mostly small pieces. I actually most enjoyed the ones that were still in the larger pieces, as opposed to the points of the stars. Ice cream sounds awesome with these!! Natalie liked them too, she’s always looking for chocolate goodies and these hit the spot!!

Leave a Reply

