Cashew Apple Salad

29 08 2008

One of the (many) perks of my Pampered Chef bridal shower is the recipe book I compiled using recipes that each guest brought with them. My mom’s friend Terry gave me a recipe for a quick, fresh salad and today was a good day to try it.

Today, I returned to the gym.

So when I got home I wasn’t looking to spend a lot of time on lunch. Enter the Cashew Apple Salad. This was so easy, I was eating in no time. Terry’s recipe calls for peeled Granny Smith apples, but Gala happened to be on sale. The tartness of Granny Smith’s probably would have balanced out the sweetness of the dressing a little bit better, but I LOVE sweet things. So it was perfect. Also, I got lazy and did not peel the apples, but then again I like the extra crunch of the skin.

Terry’s recipe was also written for a large salad serving several. I adjusted the amounts to make an individual salad but went ahead and made the entire batch of dressing to keep in the fridge whenever I want to use it. If you’re looking to make a larger version of the salad check out the amounts in parentheses.

Cashew Apple Salad

Stuff you need:

  • baby spinach (1 lg. bag)
  • Granny Smith apples, or whatever you like (4-5 lg. apples)
  • salted cashews (16 oz.)

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Wash and prepare spinach.
  2. Peel apples (if you want) and cut into small cubes
  3. Add apples and cashews to spinach.

Sweet Balsamic Dressing

Stuff you need:

  • 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c water
  • 4 tsp. balsamic vinegar

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Mix all ingredients well and microwave 30-45 seconds.
  2. Cool.
  3. Pour over salad when ready to serve.

Source: [FF] Thanks, Terry!

Actions

Information

One response

30 08 2008
mom

Looks so yummy!!! You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

