Lime Meltaways

16 08 2008

Friday night we were very busy in the French Kitchen.  Not only did we make our leftovers (WF’s Fajitas & French Kitchen Fajita Rice), I was also busy baking.  I churned out two more loaves of the Blueberry Zucchini Bread & a batch of these delish lime meltaways.  I am having a Pampered Chef Bridal Party on Sunday and wanted to bring these cookies as gifts for the guests.  One of the Blueberry Zucchini loaves is for the hostess of the party.  The cookie recipe comes from Smitten Kitchen and is originially called Key Lime Meltaways.  I could not find any key limes, hence, Lime Meltaways.  This recipes is so tasty and again, SO easy. 

It calls for the zest of 4 limes and the juice of 2.  My arm is getting tired of all this zesting and grating, but these cookies were well worth it.

Ater all the ingredients are mixed together it forms a kind of dough. 

Next roll the dough into two logs and place them in parchment paper.

Place the logs into the fridge to chill for at least an hour.  I put my logs on a Virginia Tech platter — GO HOKIES!!

After the logs have chilled, just slice and bake until the cookies are just barely golden.  In my oven, this took about 9 to 12 minutes.

The recipe instructs you to place the still warm cookies into a bag of confectioners sugar to coat.  WF said that these cookies were too sugary and I found it difficult to remove the cookies from the bag once they were coated.  I ended up dusting the cookies with confectioners sugar using a small mesh strainer.  WF approved.

I can’t wait to give these as gifts at the party!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 08 2008
Christa

tell me you saved me some!!! 😛

28 08 2008
From the French Kitchen

[…] told you that I was making the Lime Meltaways to give to the guests at my Pampered Chef bridal shower and here is how I packaged them.  My mom […]

Leave a Reply

