Not So Successful Dinner

14 08 2008

Sigh. Another dinner that was not so successful. In fact, I will call this one a failure. It was gross. The recipe, if done correctly, is probably really tasty. BUT it did not turn out well for me.

I had good intentions, I really did. WF has started his classwork portion of the work program he’s in so on Wednesday night he doesn’t get home until about 8PM or later. Sad, I know. So I decided to cook in the Crock Pot because it’s a way to cook a meal without worrying too much about when you’re going to serve.

Cinnamon-Kissed Chicken is a recipe I found in a Slow-Cooker recipe book right after someone gave WF this slow cooker:

I loved the idea of cinnamon chicken. The sauce is very simple and allowed me to use my zester again:

In an effort to keep the amount of chicken down so we didn’t have gobs of leftovers, I bought frozen chicken strips (we like using those) and just pulled out a few to defrost. I cut them up into bite size pieces:

Then in goes the sauce and I set the cooker to HIGH for 3 to 4 hours. WF didn’t get home until about 9:30 so it actually ended up cooking for a little over 4 hours. I had been checking on it all evening and I could tell it wasn’t going to work out well. First, although the recipe calls for Red Wine Vinegar dressing (which was red), it didn’t occur to me that the chicken would turn red. Well, it did. And it wasn’t horribly unappetizing but it was a little off putting. I don’t even want to post the picture, but I will:

Because there wasn’t as much chicken as the recipe called for AND it ended up cooking for longer than necessary, the outcome was strangely textured chicken with an all right flavor. I cooked up some quick spaghetti in hopes that topping the chicken on spaghetti would somehow help it. Not so. The only success of the night was the crescent rolls I baked up. I wish I could say from scratch, but I have to thank the Dough Boy for these:

By the time WF got home, I knew we’d have to abandon the entire thing. We ate the crescent rolls and then kinda of grazed on other food we had in the pantry and fridge. I’ll still go ahead and post the recipe because it sounds like it could be really great. Just not the way I made it! If anyone tries it, please let me know how it turns out!

CINNAMON-KISSED CHICKEN

From Busy People’s Slow Cooker Cookbook

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. red wine vinegar, fat-free dressing
  • 1 tsp. fresh orange zest
  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts (again, I used frozen chicken strips, thawed)

Prep:

  • Cut the chicken into strips

Cook:

  1. Spray slow cooker with cooking spray
  2. In a bowl, mix together the cinnamon, brown sugar, dressing, and orange zest.
  3. Place the chicken in the cooker and cover with the dressing mix.
  4. Cover and cook on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours (or LOW for 6 to 8 hours).

Servings: 4

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

