Thank Goodness Blueberries Were On Sale – Part 1

12 08 2008

BLUEBERRY CRUMB BAR UPDATE

I would have bought them anyway, but it just helped that they were on sale. I bought 4 pints of fresh blueberries to make 2 recipes this week. Yesterday I made the first (Blueberry Crumb Bars) and today I made the second (Blueberry Zucchini Bread – see it here). I’ve baked blueberry muffins with the canned berries a million times. But I’ve never made anything with fresh berries so I was pretty excited.

The first recipe, Blueberry Crumb Bars, I found on Smitten Kitchen. They found it on AllRecipes.com. You can get the link to the recipe at the Smitten Kitchen. To my relief, this recipe was suprisinly easy and came out very well!

I was able to use my pastry cutter to combine the butter and egg with the dry ingredients.

I also got to use my zester/scoring tool (working on getting that microplane) to add lemon zest to the batter. This made my kitchen smell fabulous!

Patting the crumbly dough into the baking dish. Oh look, my ring! I’ve only had it a few months, so I’m still kind of obsessed with it.

Adding fresh squeezed lemon juice to the sugary syrup that gets folded in with the blueberries.

Layering the blueberries…

…and the rest of the crumbly dough. Then into the oven to bake into blueberry crumb goodness.

I mean… it’s beautiful. And it tastes amazing. I’m sending half of the dish to work with WF because the two of us can’t finish everything I bake (sadly).

UP NEXT: Blueberry Zucchini Bread (which is baking while I blog) and Bloody Mary Flank Steak (which is marinating as well!) with Parmesan Taters and Corn on the Cob

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 08 2008
Christa

Wow, you are on fire in the kitchen! We actually bought a thing of blueberries since they were on sale, but we are just eating them out of the carton 😉 And I’m reading your blog instead of seeing my patients… not good. But your pictures are great!

12 08 2008
thefrenchkitchen

Thanks! But you should see your patients 😉 Can’t wait to see you soon!!

15 08 2008
Blueberry Crumb Bar Update « From the French Kitchen

[…] sent about 32 left over Blueberry Crumb Bars (see them here) with WF to his first morning class at work. Immediately after, he called to let me know he only […]

Leave a Reply

