Simple Spaghetti & Squash

7 08 2008

Every night this week WF has been attending a work program kickoff where his company provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner. That’s part of the reason I’ve been baking and not cooking. I finally got him back tonight and made a simple spaghetti and meat/tomato sauce with squash and zucchini on top.

Start by cooking the pasta.

I was shopping on the fly tonight because I found out late in the afternoon that WF would be gracing me with his presence at the dinner table ;). I had no tomato sauce, paste, or anything really and had to make a quick shopping trip since I passed WF at the apartment gate as I was leaving. In my haste at the store, I forgot to pick up an onion which I usually chop up and add to the browning meat. I know we’ll miss that flavor, but we’ll live, so I just continued on by adding some fresh chopped garlic and half a pound of meat to the pan.

Please excuse the horrid looking pan. It was a hand me down and, as always, I’m waiting on the wedding gifts! I realized today that this weekend, the wedding will be exactly 2 months away! Holy crap.

WF likes his meat sauce to be heavy on the sauce and light on the meat. My mom’s spaghetti sauce is always thick and meaty so I have had to try a few different things to satisfy WF. That has meant less meat and more tomato sauce and paste. I usually add a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, a small can of sauce, and a whole can of paste. Then I add some Worcestershire sauce, dry oregano, sugar, salt, pepper, whatever I have on hand. No measurements, just enough to taste perfect.

One thing from my mom’s spaghetti that WF does like is squash and zucchini. I just cut it up and let it hang out in a saute pan with a little extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper. It’s delish. Normally I slice it into disks, but I thought I’d change it up tonight.

Once every thing’s ready, put it all together. Done! A quick and easy meal that has protein, carbs, and veggies. C’est magnifique!

Source: [FF]

Actions

Information

One response

7 08 2008
Christa

I really do wish that I liked squash, because this looks good! Maybe I’ll buy a squash and give it another try…

Leave a Reply

