Childhood Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 08 2008

I’ve been helping my mom in the kitchen since I was probably 5 years old. But one of the first things I remember baking on my own is chocolate chip cookies. I was probably 9 or 10 when I baked my first batch and I’ve loved making them ever since. Anytime I need to bring a dessert to a party or get-together these cookies are my go-to winner. I’ve given these as Christmas and birthday gifts and they are always a big hit.

Having said all that, there is nothing speical about this recipe, in fact you’ve all probably seen it and baked it at least once. This recipe comes from the back of the Nestle® Toll House® chocolate chip package. I’m sure it’s not the “best” chocolate chip cookie recipe, but it holds a special place in my heart.

I have wanted to bake these since we moved into our new apartment now that I have all this time and a much bigger kitchen than before (which is sad). So, today is the day!

Enjoy!

What you’ll need — minus the pretty yellow flowers.

Mix the dry ingredients. I know you’re jealous of my blue mixing bowls… they belonged to my WF and are the best I can do until we start getting gifts off our wedding registries. Same goes for the hand mixer you’ll see below. Can’t wait to get a stand mixer! Anyway, after mixing the dry ingredients, beat the wet ingredients in a separate bowl and then gradually combine. Add the chocolate chips and then it’s cookie time!

I have 2 choices of cookie droppers.  The one of the left is from Pampered Chef and the other is from Walmart.

I have 2 choices of cookie droppers. The one of the left is from Pampered Chef and the other is from Walmart.

The Pampered Chef dropper works well if you don't care about the shape of your cookie.  The small scoop gives the best round shape.

The Pampered Chef dropper works well if you don’t care about the shape of your cookie. The small scoop gives the best round shape.

Drop your cookies onto baking sheets with enough space for them to spread out

Drop your cookies onto baking sheets with enough space for them to spread out.

Beleive it or not, I just started using parchment paper about a year ago.  It was just never used in my house, but omg I LOVE it.

Beleive it or not, I just started using parchment paper about a year ago. It was just never used in my house, but omg I LOVE it.

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown.  YUM

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. YUM.

In addition to two regular baking sheets, I have a baking stone from Pampered Chef.

The cookies on this stone came out looking different and according to the WF they are chewy all the way around whereas the cookies baked on the sheet pans are chewy on the inside with a crispy edge. According to the WF )who is an engineer and so I am inclined to believe him on this ocassion) this is because the cookies on the stone probably received uniform heat… or something like that.

Cookies on the baking sheet -- how can I control myself for these pictures?  I want to eat!

Cookies on the baking sheet — I want to eat!

Cookies baked on the stone

Cookies baked on the stone

The delicious results

The delicious results!!

ORIGINAL NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2 & 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar (I used dark brown because I had it on hand)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 cups Nestle Toll House semi-sweet morsels

This recipe calls for 1 cup of chopped nuts as well, but WF is allergic plus I don’t really like nuts in my cookies. BUT use them if you’d like.

Preheat oven to 375

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla in large bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels (and nuts). Drop onto baking sheets.

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Makes about 5 dozen cookies.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 08 2008
Claire

Ha! My mom has the Pampered Chef scoop and I have the ice cream style one. I LOVE my baking stones…you can really leave the cookies in longer (on accident of course) and they don’t burn as quickly!

13 12 2012
stlmom

I have two of the non-scoop style droppers, and they were cheap. Can’t for the life of me remember where I got them-probably some store that has gone under. I know I’d never pay Pampered Chef prices for this cheap tool. Foley and Maid of Scandinavia were two of the brands that sold them once upon a time. Country Kitchen Sweetart sells these for less than $2 each online, but the minimum shipping charge is $7.95. Ouch if you only want one! I’d sure like to find a local store in St. Louis that sells them.

Leave a Reply

