Bon Jour from The French Kitchen

4 08 2008

Bon Jour!

Welcome to my new blog! This isn’t the first time I’ve dipped my toe in the blogging pool. My first blog chronicled my experiences training for my first half-marathon and hasn’t been updated since I completed that race in April 2008. You can check it out here.

Since starting that blog, I have become incredibly interested in all the cooking, baking, eating, foodie blogs out there and thought I’d give it a try. I’m not amazing in the kitchen, but I do love to cook and bake. During college and grad school I really didn’t have a ton of time to do much of anything in the kitchen. Add to that a full-time job and by the end of the day I was exhausted, which usually meant my wonderful boyfriend (now fiancé) whipped up one of his famous (to me) “one pot meals”.

After graduating in 2007, quitting my job this past June, and moving to South Carolina with the wonderful fiancé (WF) just about a month ago… things were pretty hectic. Since the move, I have found things slowing way down for me. This is a welcome change as I am finding I have plenty of time to read blogs, go to the store, and cook almost every night of the week. Exciting! Not only that, WF and I got engaged May 23, 2008 and we are getting married October 10, 2008. As you can see, not a ton of time to plan a wedding, but it’s coming together nicely since I am not working. I also have picked up running again, looking for short races to build myself up to a full out marathon which I had always intended to do when I started training for that half.

So with this new amazingly flexible schedule, I am starting my own food blog. It will probably be a compilation of my favorite recipes from my family as well as magazines, cook books, and other blogs. All credit will be given where appropriate, of course. You’ll also probably get some info on my race training and wedding plans and other random thoughts. But hopefully, I will be able to fill this blog with lots of cooking and baking.

I’ve called this blog From the French Kitchen because my kitchen and adjoining living room/den are decorated with “French” touches. And by that I mean, I have some large prints and little decorative pieces that have French words on them. I’ve actually never been to France, I don’t speak French, I know little to nothing about French cooking, and I really have no idea what a French kitchen would look like. Still, it’s my French kitchen and I love it. If WF and I weren’t in an apartment or thought we’d be in this space for longer, I’d love to paint the walls a rich yellowish color or something like that. But I suppose that dream will have to wait until we buy a house. So with that explanation, enjoy some pictures of the little “French” touches around our apartment and find out why I call it The French Kitchen.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 08 2008
Claire

You know, when I get engaged (hopefully some day!) I think that’s the way I want to do it. I’ve already said I don’t want to be engaged longer than 6 months! Hope your planning goes well.

5 08 2008
peabody

Welcome to the blogging world.

11 03 2009
Joie de vivre

Very cute decorations! Congratulations on your marriage. My hubby and I had 10 weeks between getting engaged and getting married…9 years ago now! I’ve never regretted the quick engagement. In fact, I question those who have a long engagement (in my head) “do they REALLY want to get married?” Rambling now, must go have coffee. Thanks for posting pics of your decorations! Right now, my kitchen is sort of decorated in “Americana” but not sure if I’m in love with it.

Leave a Reply

