I hate technology

17 05 2009

Yeh, that’s right.  I said it.

We have 4 computers in our apartment, yes 4.   I think I mentioned that my laptop has been out of commission for quite some time now.  It’s in a coma and needs specialized care which we are currently unable to provide.  True story about this situation is at the end of this post.  Just look for the part where I start whining about Dell.

My husband has 3 computers: an old laptop, a desktop, and the laptop provided by his company.  I’d ask for one from my company, but I think you have to work for an actual company, not a nonprofit.  And this is crazy, but nonprofits don’t seem to be handing out laptops as willy-nilly as companies.  

Anyway, the old laptop has never really been used — I consider it dead, but WH refuses to admit it.  The desktop was doing wonderfully for both of us.  But now, the desktop is acting like a fool.  That’s the only way I can describe it.  A fool.  It’s not in a coma, it’s not nearly dead, it is sick.  Or maybe it’s on drugs.  That probably makes more sense.

Sadly that fool of a computer is the only place I have my picture download software (except for on my laptop  — I refuse to aknowledge a time of death until we’ve exhausted all possible treatment!).  Since the only working computer is my husband’s WORK laptop, I can’t download my software to the only working computer we own.  I like my software.  It saves pictures and I can edit them.  It’s simple, but I need it.

So the whole point of this sad, sad story of laptops with comas and foolish desktops, is that I can’t post :(  I have good stuff too!  Barefoot Blogger stuff.  And dinner recipes.  And TOUR recipes!! 

I’m distraught and I will remain as such until Dell sends someone to personally revive our beloved 3 (or at least the 2 I believe can still pull through).  Because, yes, they are all Dells.  All of them. 

Dell, if you’re out there, think of how sad I am, of how unhappy I am with you.  Think about it.  How would you feel if you called me needing help with, um… well something I could help with and I said, “Sorry I can’t help you, it’s been too long since we met.  You didn’t spend enough money on me.”  Because that’s what you did to me.  I didn’t purchase a warranty long enough to cover this laptop coma and now you won’t even talk to me.  WON’T EVEN TALK TO ME!  It hurts.  It really does.  So just think about it.

And send us a new Dell.  Because, yes, our beloved 3 can be replaced that easily. 0:)


Actions

Information

3 responses

8 06 2009
Jamie

Oh, I know how frustrating it can be! I get crazy and mean if I can’t blog. But I have one word for you (only a suggestion) MAC :-)

Enjoying your blog…

10 06 2009
Lisa

Hi Amy – sorry about your computer woes. To answer your question about the hotel, no it wasn’t all-inclusive. I didn’t see many of those available in Puerto Rico for some reason. Not sure why though?

19 06 2010
Jane

I am sorry about your technology frustration and I know the feeling only too well! My life has now changed… I never have any problems with my computer, all my problems disappeared the day I invested in Mac, so I’m agreeing with Jamie, good luck

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.