Italian (Not So Mini) Mini Meat Loaves

5 10 2008

I know what you’re thinking… “Isn’t she getting married in 5 days?  Didn’t she say she wouldn’t be posting until after she got back from the wedding?”  Yes, and yes.  But it seems that my mom and I have done some fabulous planning and preparing because we aren’t running around like women who are involved in a wedding in 5 days.  I was actually feeling a little bored the other day because there was not much left to do.  This is incredibly unlike my mom and me.  Go us!  I have to admit I am trying not to jinx us, which I kind of already did when I said to my mom “I don’t want to jinx us but I think we are going to be pretty chill next week.”  Wanna know what happened?  My laptop crashed.  The laptop with the ceremony program on it.  I am close to tears over this situation because I’m not sure how to fix it and I think I might lose everything.  I just keep thinking about all my pictures… the horror!  (I do have an older version of the ceremony program on my memory stick, so that crisis has been averted).

So like I said, hoping to not get jinxed again by doing this post.  This does actually count as preparing for the wedding though because I need to clear our digital cameras of pictures, which means food pictures too.  So why not just post already?  For your blog-reading pleasure, I give you a post ;)

 

Apparently I was brave when I planned meals for a couple weeks ago because I chose 2 recipes from Rachel Ray and one of those recipes was a 2-parter!  Gosh what was I thinking?  I’ll tell you what I was thinking.  “Rachel Ray’s crazed recipes are no match for me!  I can handle her multi-tasking instructions.”  And you know what?  All RR recipes were quite successul that week :)

The other night I attempted the Italian (Not So Mini) Mini Meat Loaves with Macaroni & 3 Cheeses (upcoming post will feature Part 2).  This dinner was a big risk because WF has said (several times) that he does not like meatloaf.  But I just had to try it anyway because it’s not just a slab of beef dried out in the oven.  It’s got peppers! And onions!  I mean how can you not like that??

I kept telling WF all week “Just promise me you’ll try it.  It’s gonna be good, I guarantee it.”  So what was the outcome?  WF actually enjoyed the meatloaf.  I won’t say he loved it, because I think that would be a lie and I don’t want to lie to all you dear people.  BUT I will say that he actually ate a good amount of it and told me that it tasted better than it looked.  Well, meatloaf isn’t exactly the prettiest food, but it tries, so I cut it some slack.

I have dubbed this recipe Italian (Not So Mini) Mini Meat Loaves because I tried to “half” the recipe to make 2 loaves instead of 4.  And well, the loaves I ended up making are not mini.  See:

Italian (Not So Mini) Mini Meat Loaves

Serves 2-3

Stuff you need:

  • 2/3 lb. ground beef
  • 2 Tbsp. beaten egg (see other info)
  • 1/3 c. Italian bread crumbs
  • 1/8 c. grated Paremsan cheese
  • 1/4 small green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

What to do with that stuff:

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Place meat in a bowl and make a well in the meat.
  3. Fill well with egg, bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese, bell pepper, onion, garlic, tomato paste, salt, and pepper.
  4. Mix meat and breading and form 2 (or 3) individual oval meat loaves, about 1-inch thick.
  5. Coat loaves with 2 Tbsp. olive oil and arrange on a baking sheet.
  6. Roast 18 to 20 minutes.

Source: [5]

Other stuff you might want to know:

I learned from a cookbook that an egg is approximately 4 Tbsp.  So to cut a recipe in half that calls for 1 egg, you crack the entire egg and beat it with a fork.  Then measure out 2 Tbsp and voila: half an egg! Source: [8]

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 10 2008
Recipe Hit List: 25 Tempting Meatloaf Recipes » TipNut.com

[...] Italian (Not So Mini) Mini Meat Loaves: This dinner was a big risk because WF has said (several times) that he does not like meatloaf. But I just had to try it anyway because it’s not just a slab of beef dried out in the oven. It’s got peppers! And onions! I mean how can you not like that?? Recipe found at The French Kitchen. [...]

3 03 2013
premature ejaculation 5-htp

Hey! I’m about to start my own website and was wondering if you know where the best place to purchase a website url is? I am not even sure if that’s what its called?
(I’m new to this) I’m referring to “http://thefrenchkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/10/05/italian-not-so-mini-mini-meat-loaves/”.
Exactly how do I go about getting one of these for the website I’m creating? Many thanks

11 03 2013
incinerador de grasa gratis libro

Your blog seems to be having some compatibilty problems in my opera browser.
The wording seems to be running off the page pretty bad.
If you would like you can email me at: verlene-martell@gmx.
net and I will shoot you over a screen shot of the problem.

2 08 2013
jacks blowjob lessons download

We absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be just what I’m looking
for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome weblog!

5 08 2013
Tom Venuto Burn The Fat Feed The Muscle Pdf Download

When the axis of movement of a joint shifts from the center of rotation, you will experience
a shearing force, wear-and-tear and a movement pattern that should not be loaded with additional resistance.
A huge mistake people make when dieting is to starve themselves.
Do you want to lose inches fast off your body, get firm and toned.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.